Aadhaar Mandatory For ePass Exemption To Travel Within Up During Lockdown

In India, every person is identified via a unique identity. This is called Aadhaar and contains 12 digit numeric fields. The management of a large population of the country was a difficult time. As a result, Government established UIDAI in 2009 to run, control, and monitor the whole process of Aadhaar enrollment. The enrollment process of people of India is done via the Aadhaar center set up in different parts of the country even in villages. In a very short span of time, we have seen the large population of the country get themselves registered with the UIDAI. Aadhaar card is issued only to those people of India, who are inside the country for at least six months a year.

The Aadhaar Act which is the backbone of the enrollment process clearly prohibits NRI (Non-Resident Indian) to obtain Aadhaar. The reason is that they do not live inside the country for at least 6 months. You can get your Aadhaar card simply by paying a visit to your nearest Aadhar enrollment center. If you want to apply for the Aadhaar card, you must carry the necessary documents that can verify your address and other details.

The normal time to get an Aadhaar card is 90 days from the date of enrollment with the UIDAI. There are no fees involved in the enrollment process. All are free from the Government. Even they do not charge for the printing and postage services. You can get registered with the UIDAI without paying any dime. There are two important pieces of information that are saved during the Aadhaar enrollment process. One is demographic details while the other is biometric details.

The health situation in India is getting worst day by day due to the corona pandemic. The hospitals are already fully equipped and there is a huge shortage of oxygen cylinders in the country. The only viable solution to control this pandemic is to exercise social distancing and wearing a mask.

As the pandemic is hitting people at an exponential rate, various states and cities are being locked down. This is to make sure people remain in their homes and social interaction can be eliminated altogether. As corona spreads from one person to others, the minimal interaction, the minimum spread will occur.

In the largest state of India UP (Uttar Pradesh), lockdown is in process and it has been further extended up to Thursday 7 am. There is a strict curfew in the state. No one is allowed to travel in the state except they hold an e-pass. However, there are certain exemptions to this restriction. UP Government has released a list of people who are allowed to move or travel in the state without getting an ePass. Following is a list of people who do not need an ePass to travel in the state:

• eCommerce operators
• Industrial activities
• Medical and essential services including vehicles
Post office staff
• Medical emergency staff
• Electronic services
• Internet services

Other people whose cases are original can apply to get ePass by visiting the Uttar Pradesh Revenue Department’s official portal. People have to submit an Aadhaar card, PAN card, or GST papers as the case may be to get the e-pass in the UP state.